Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Strange, scary sensation

edited December 2009 in Meditation
This morning while meditating I felt a strange, kind of scary sensation while meditating. I can not make much sense of it so I ask the people of this site which have more experience than me if they can help. I'm not good at explaining things, but anyway. I was calm and concentrated. Following the breath extremely well. Mindfulness was great. Concentration felt refined. I think I was deeper than I'd ever been. Totally in the moment.

Then a strange sensation developed. It felt as there was a growing distance between my breath and the perception of my breath. The touch feelings of my two hands placed together was also widening, feeling very far away. Floating further and further away. The sense of distance felt really real. At the same time my head, legs and arms felt like they were expanding or getting bigger. It kind of felt like when u tingling in a part of ur body, but it was pretty much in my whole body.

The part where it got scary was a panic response almost set in. I had to open my eyes and have a drink of water to bring myself back. I didn't know where it was all leading, I tried observing it which made the sensations... deeper. This makes me sad because is this what is going to happen when I go deeper in meditation? I don't know what happened. Was I losing something? I don't think I explained it very well but, I tried! Thanks for reading.

Comments

• DhammaDhatuDhammaDhatu Veteran
    edited December 2009
    Hi Shannon