Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is nothing a good focus for meditation

edited January 2010 in Meditation
Hello everyone:)

I am very new to meditating, i have only done it for a couple of days. But something interesting happened on the 6th or 7th time i tried it, and was wondering if any of you have had a similar experience.

I was focusing on one thing, and held that focus for a while, and then i decided to change focus to something else. I was still focused on the first thing, and i tried to have complete focus on the second thing as well (tried to have 100% focus on each at the same time, if that makes any sense) and then something happened where i didn't have focus on either, and not only did i not have focus on either of those, but i had focus on nothing, and didn't have focus on anything. This lasted about 5-10 seconds before a thought came in a ruined it, and then i had to start the process over again to get back, focus on one thing, then the other, then nothing. But whenever i am in that state of focusing on nothing, it never seems to last longer than around 10 seconds because then a thought comes into my head that says "How can you be focused on nothing?" And then i am focused on that thought and the nothing becomes something.

Have any of you experienced this? Should i keep pursuing this "nothing" and trying to extend this, or should i go back to focusing on one thing and not try to clear the mind completely?

Comments

• JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited January 2010
    My advice is to find a teacher who can teach you what they know about meditation.