Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Very basic question . . . sorry if it's TOO basic

specialkaymespecialkayme Veteran
edited February 2010 in Meditation
So I have been meditating for about a year and a half. I'm still a beginner. I started with the "8 Minute Meditation" book, and moved on to Metta Meditation. I can do some metta meditations, but mostly I just count breaths and try to focus on that. Quiet the mind, if you will. I started meditating 8 minutes a day, and once I felt comfortable with that I added a minute. Now I'm up to 13.

Anyway, I'm reading alot about meditation on things: Emptiness, Interconnectedness, Buddha-nature, ect. My question (and it's very basic) is how do you meditate on a topic?

I thought the whole point was to quiet the mind. Once it starts to wander, you bring it back. If I meditate and start thinking about emptiness, my mind will wander. Sometimes on emptiness, sometimes not. So is some wandering mind allowed, as long as it's on the same topic? Or should I just be repeating "Emptiness" over and over again?

Comments

• edited January 2010
    I would seek out some guided meditations on the interwebs!:D
  • ValtielValtiel Veteran
    edited January 2010
    Hi specialkayme, :)

I would suggest, to keep it simple, and not into a bunch of different meditation practices and topics. I would start by practicing simple anapanasati, which is Mindfulness with Breathing meditation. This is different from what you're practicing. Eventually, this will lead into vipassana.