Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation and Noise

edited May 2010 in Meditation
I am still pretty new to meditation, although I feel like I am off to a strong start.

My catch is this - I feel I need absolute silence to have my best meditations. When it is completely silent, I am able to really get lost in the meditation and silence my mind.

However - most nights, my wife works from home as an online tutor - and she talks VERY loud. Loud enough that her voice carries through my closed door upstairs to where I can hear it.

The natural starts and stops of her conversations shake the calmness of my mind as they distract me and get internal dialogue started that wasn't there before. I have tried putting on my headset and playing white noise in the hopes of drowning out her voice. Unfortunately - I inevitably pick out rhythms of any streaming white noise and begin thinking about and anticipating the rhythm changes and that is distracting me from focusing on my breath and a silent mind.

Does anyone have any suggestions or practices they are able to use in a situation where they can't get silence while meditating? Any suggestions are very welcome.

Thanks!

EDIT: Changing my schedule isn't an option - night time is really my only window for a meditation routine.

Comments

• edited March 2010
    Hm, if the noise is that loud and distracting, you may want to try to soundproof one of your rooms, either the one you'll be meditating in or (more preferably) the one she works out of. Soundproofing can be easy, but makes a room pretty unsightly.