Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Feet falling asleep

edited November 2010 in Meditation
Hi all, I'm new to sitting meditation but enjoying the practice very much so far. The thing is though, at about 15 minutes into the sitting I feel my left foot fall asleep. I'm nowhere near able to achieve the lotus pose and I don't have a cushion yet, so I sit in the 'easy' cross-legged pose with the calves crossed. The lack of sensation isn't really distracting, but I'm wondering what I can do to get past it. Does it go away? Would a cushion help? Thanks for any advice!

Comments

• aMattaMatt Veteran
    edited April 2010
    Sitting on a towel or cushion might help, keeping your hips slightly elevated.
  • JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited April 2010
    I get this sometimes and sometimes not. I think it has to do with how the nerves are compressed by pressure. So if you can somehow balance the pressure more 'easy' then you get less deadening of the nerve. When it does happen I just ignore it because I know it will not harm me. It does feel strange when you stand up and exercise the leg again and sensation is flooding you.
  • edited April 2010
    It continues to happen to me sometimes after many years of trying different things. When I do half lotus on an extra large cushion it helps, but my body cannot do full lotus, and my yoga instructor says that it is genetic based on how your hips are angled.