Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Tension and nervous/restless energy

edited May 2010 in Meditation
Hi,

I'm new here, so be nice! :p

I have a few questions, but first, I'll give you a little background. I've been learning about Buddhism for a few years now, and I've been meditating (awareness of the breath) on and off during that time. Lately, I've been feeling very compelled to put a much greater effort into my burgeoning practice, and making sure that I actually sit down to meditate, even if it's only for ten or fifteen minutes.

I've always noticed that I have a certain amount of tension when I meditate, and I've been more or less successful in recognizing it, and trying to relax a bit more, while continuing to be mindful of my breath. Over the last several days, however, whenever I sit down to meditate, I suddenly feel full of nervous or restless energy that makes it very difficult to remain mindful and focused. The quality of this energy is very coarse, and it lingers throughout the day after I stop sitting.

I'm not certain what the source of this energy is or what's causing it, nor am I aware of how to go about diffusing it. So, I thought I'd try to find some advice from some more seasoned practitioners: what do you think?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Daniel

Comments

• patbbpatbb Veteran
    edited May 2010
    If your meditation is focus on the breath, then just focus on the breath.

sensations, physical pain, torrents of thoughts etc...
    Everytimes your attention goes to these things, everytime you catch yourself doing this, just refocus on the breath.