Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Startled by sounds

ListenListen New
edited June 2010 in Meditation
Hey all,

I have been doing mostly breath-based meditation for about 3 months now, and it has been excellent. One thing, however, that I wonder about is that I can get briefly startled by any sudden sounds (ex. the cracking sound of wood expanding on the floor where I'm sitting). The sounds that can startle me aren't even that loud... They are simply unexpected and I am jarred out of my focus on the breath.

This doesn't ruin my meditation or anything: I get back on track immediately. But I wonder if there is a way in which I should be handling these startling sounds when they arise. I assume that eventually I will be less startled by odd sounds...?

Thanks.

Comments

• edited June 2010
    Hehe... :)

Very typical thing to happen. When the mind becomes subtle and sensitive, even small noises can produce this effect. The underlying reason is that somewhere deep in the unconscious mind still lies the watchful ego that feels threatened by all kinds of things, including noises.

When you hear a noise, just make a mental note: "Aha, cracking noise." and be done with it. When you feel startled, just make a mental note: "Aha, a little flash of fear." and continue.

If the startling effect is persistent, then you might want to tell your ego what a wimpy coward it is, give it a mental mental kick in the backside and throw it out.

Cheers, Thomas
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited June 2010