Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Aversion to meditation, and anxious after meditation

edited November 2010 in Meditation
I sat for 15 mins the other day and when my butt hit the pillow (I can't afford a Zafu) I noticed a very strong urge to stand back up and find something else to do. It was strong enough to cause me to feel nauseous while sitting. I felt like crawling out of my skin and running for the door. I think it may be due to a fear of facing what's in my head, kind of like an unwillingness to trust that the present moment can offer me peace. Since I have little experience with intentionally focusing on the present moment, I feel that I am risking a lot by quieting my mind; who knows what might pop up? And I'm not sure I'm strong enough to face some of these things.

Related somehow, I'm sure, was a feeling of agitation and anxiety during and after my sitting. The feeling actually lasted my whole evening at work, and I felt that I would have been in a better mood had I not meditated. This strengthens my lack of trust in the present moment, for it appears to me that by quieting my mind I made things worse that day.

I am very confused, and I guess I'm just interested in hearing some thoughts on the issue.

Thanks

Comments

• edited July 2010
    Something I've learned over the years is that when something has been a long time coming, it has to get worse before it can get better. This may be what you're experiencing.