Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Problem when I started to meditate

edited August 2010 in Meditation
Hello,

I'm a beginner at meditation and I have experienced bad things since I started.
I learned to meditate a little bit a while ago when doing martial arts (shotokan karate). We had masters who practiced Tai chi and taugh us some basics.
Anyway, I really dont know anything about mediation and I decided to start doing some reading over the internet to learn more and start meditating on my own. I read that one way is to start focusing on your breathing, picture the air coming in and out through your neck, lungs etc... deeply and through the nose.
I did this for a about a month every other day.
I was not doing sports anymore, I got chronic overtraining syndrome and experienced things such as chronic fatigue, etc...
My body was under a lot of stress and that's why I decided to meditate.

When I started doing sports again, only a 10 min fast walk, I felt I could not breath in normally at the end of the session. It's like I was gasping for air.
Now I cant take a deep breath when I'm under stress. It's hard to describe, I want to fill my lungs with air but it's like it gets stuck at some point. It has been going for 2 months now and it seems to reduce when I dont do much things to stress my body, when I avoid sports etc...
It's very strange and very annoying. It's like I cant breath fully, cant feel in my lungs with air.

It's even stranger that all this started with me starting to meditate!!