Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How Do You Meditate

VagabondVagabond Explorer
edited November 2010 in Meditation
Once again, I'm new to this whole thing, and yeah, I've seen videos explaining how to meditate, but I'd like to hear how you all do it and what you think is important. I know there's different types of meditation, but what do you think would be easiest for me to do? I always seem to try to do it at night when I'm already tired, which will always end up with me falling asleep lol. Idk

Comments

• fivebellsfivebells Veteran
    edited August 2010
    I do the meditation described on this retreat (link to a series of podcasts made from the dharma talks.) Roughly, you attend to every aspect of experience, physical emotional and intellectual, open your heart to this experience, then attend to awareness itself as well, and rest. I just keep doing that.
  • SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited August 2010
    Vagabond wrote: »
    ............. what do you think would be easiest for me to do? ...............

Hello Vagabond. You'll certainly get lots of good (and, perhaps, less good) advice but I have a question for you:

Do you really want the easiest meditation?
  • mugzymugzy Veteran
    edited August 2010
    My main practice is a simple meditation on the breath. I place my mind on the breath and just let it rest on that, and when thoughts arise I simply acknowledge them (thoughts, thinking, back to breath) and bring myself back to the present moment. It's a basic meditation that can be done anywhere, for any length of time.
  • NomaDBuddhaNomaDBuddha Scalpel wielder :) Bucharest Veteran