Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Similarities between Buddhism and Cognitive Behavioural Therapy

Seven years ago, I was treated for major depression and anxiety using Cognitive Behavioural Therapy. Two years ago, I started learning Buddhism. I am amazed by the similarity between the two.

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy is based on the fact, that how we think affects how we feel. For example, irrational thoughts, like everyone must like me will cause us to feel upset, every time, we confront a person who reacts negatively to us, we feel upset. Cognitive Behavioural therapy also operates on the idea, that it is our unrealistic expectations that causes much suffering. For example, I must be rich, I must always have many friends etc. Cognitive Behavioural therapy is about thinking realistically and rationally.

Buddhism says the same thing, but in a different way. Buddhism uses the word, desire instead of expectations and Buddhism too is about thinking realistically, that is, impermanence, law of causes, conditions and effects, suffering etc. Buddhism emphasizes wisdom which is similar to rational thinking promoted by Cognitive Behavioural Therapy.

What are your thoughts on this?

Comments

• ShiftPlusOneShiftPlusOne Veteran
    edited October 2010
    I think just about all psychotherapy is covered by Buddhism.
  • fivebellsfivebells Veteran
    edited October 2010