Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

reliance on guided meditation

edited November 2010 in Meditation
As a beginner, I've found it convenient to switch on guided meditations as a training template for my meditations. However, I've been pondering the negative effects of using them: I switch from one meditation to the next quickly, and also think I lose a bit of focus on the inner workings of my mind when I hear another voice dictating a program for the meditation experience.

Just curious how people incorporate guided meditation into their practice? Ideas on incorporating the tool or abusing it?

Comments

• ShiftPlusOneShiftPlusOne Veteran
    edited November 2010
    Depends on how you use them. I'd recommend you do one guided per week and then practice by yourself for the rest of the week. If you only listen to guided meditations, then that's probably not a good idea.
  • edited November 2010
    Why would you change from one meditation to the next quickly?
  • NirvanaNirvana aka BUBBA   `     `   South Carolina, USA Veteran
    edited November 2010
    Rob3rt wrote: »
    Why would you change from one meditation to the next quickly?
    Maybe because guided meditation five to seven days a week might make you want to SCREAM?

I mean, when they go on and on talking through the whole meditation really all I want is for them to shut up so that I can get out of their clutches and do a little meditating awhile.

The whole point of guided meditation is to help you. Availing oneself of both guided and unguided methods is not a "quick change" of methodology. No, they are just different phases of the same thing.