Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Wrathful compassion

edited November 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Dear sangha,

I'm studying Tibetan Buddhism and I think it is a rich, colorful and peaceful tradition; values of compassion, loving-kindness and love are heartedly cultivated, and afflictive emotions seems to be a rare thing around tibetans.

But I am confronted with the idea of wrathful deities, and the ideia that tibetans parents spank children that behave in a naughty way. Even His Holiness the Dalai Lama in his childhood studied under the threat of whip, with long switches hung Potala's study room to remind him of the consequences for a lazy student. And he is the great and compassive master he is today!
I really try to understand how wrath can be good; I always thought that compassion, loving-kindness and love alone would be enough to heal our problems and to discipline ourselves.
Setting motivation on the basis of fear (using a whip in a child) doesn't make much sense to me. There are a lot of Western investigations on the negative consequences of spanking, but I don't know if the it applies to the tibetan culture, where the physical discipline has a different role and their minds are trained since infancy.

So I really am confronted with this thing of "wrath". Can it really make positive changes if properly applied?
For me is something very strange, I really want to understand because it is a very beautiful culture.

Metta,
Vinícius

Comments

• andyrobynandyrobyn Veteran
    edited November 2010