Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Atheists! Say Hi! :)

laughing_statuelaughing_statue Explorer
edited November 2010 in Faith & Religion
Hey! I'm an atheist (just to make sure we are on the same page). I'm also pretty new to Buddhism, but I am jumping right in and loving it. I'm not sure at what point I will consider myself an actual 'Buddhist' or 'Atheistic Buddhist' or whatever, but that isn't really the point of this post. I'm just curious how many of you are also Atheists interested in pursuing a type of religion with no fake Gods, no brain washing, and actual scientific facts to back it up. I personally was a hardcore Christian for about 17 years of my life. I've been an Atheist for another few years (though I continued to believe in souls or rebirth). And when everything got rough in my life, I started to search for something... to make me happy. Buddhism is the solution I arrived at. Can anyone else relate?

Comments

• CloudCloud Veteran
    edited November 2010
    Hmm if you don't mind me asking, how can you be an atheist while at the same time believing in a soul? :) I grew up in a Christian household, considered myself an atheist for many years, and then settled into a peaceful "agnosticism" with the doors wide open to the possibilities and an honest "I don't know" about the truth of reality. Now of course, Buddhist, and it seems the only way to be -- open.
  • edited November 2010
    Cloud wrote: »
    Hmm, how can you be an atheist while at the same time believing in a soul? :)
    Why not? I don't think a belief in a soul needs to be connected to a belief in a God.
  • edited November 2010