Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What does Buddhism say about Guilt?

edited September 2011 in Buddhism Basics
I am new to Buddhism and meditation. I am going through a very difficult part in my life. I have made a lot of mistakes in the past. I have this overwhelming guilt that is tearing me apart. I have asked for forgiveness and received it, but I can not shake this overwhelming guilt.

I know that nothing I can do can change the past. How can Buddhism help me reconcile my guilt to move forward.

Comments

• zenffzenff Veteran
    edited September 2011
    In Buddhism there are no bad people and no good ones either.
    There are merely good (or helpful) actions and bad (not helpful) actions.
    There is no “me” doing the actions; there are just impersonal processes.

The Buddhist response to guilt – in short – is that it is part of the self-delusion which causes much of your suffering; one way or the other.
    People who feel great about themselves have the same problem with a different color.

• There was this wonderful story someone posted about the Dalai Lama. Someone came to him for teachings, and the DL was talking about rebirth, and afterwards, this one student ran off and committed suicide so he could have a better rebirth, or something (I'm fuzzy on the details). So when the DL found out about this, he felt terrible, because he felt responsible for the student's death. And after all these years, when people ask him if the feelings about that incident are still there, he pauses to think, and then says, "Yes, still there". But the point is he doesn't dwell on it.