Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Why do we get reborn?

Ajahn brahm was asked this recently.
I would like to hear your opinions before revealing brahm's answer.

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited April 2013
    Why do we get reborn?
    because i think we want to get born - i think it is because of our desire to get something either in material world like pleasure, status, gain etc - or want to get something in spiritual world like nimitta, jhanas, enlightenment etc.
    SabreTheEccentric
  • DakiniDakini Veteran
    To give us the opportunity to reach our full potential--Buddhahood. And because others need us, they need our compassion. Suffering sentient beings need more realized beings to walk among them and help bring liberation to all.
  • Clinging to existence. The whole thrust of living beings is to continue to exist (bhavatanha)- a hopeless task in the face of impermanence.
    TheEccentric
  • dear how,
    this is a sincere question, i dont want to challenge or
    argue with your position.
    i am just curious what you tell yourself
    regarding certain traits or quality you have
    which is due to your past karma (previuos life)
    eg. if i am a savant, and i can memorise an encyclopedia
    but i cant live on my own due to my disablity.
    i will tell myself that well, i must have done sth in
    the past to have such awesome memory n such a disability.

how do you explain it to yourself?

disclaimer; if anyone is offended by this question,
    i am sorry.

how said:

WHY DO WE GET REBORN...IMHO This question makes unsupportable suppositions.