Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

life and zen

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
hi all,

i was reading various commentaries and dhamma talks on zen on the internet. so thought of writing this post to share with you all.

zen seems to be a cool way to live life. it takes the life to its smallest unit, a moment, which itself cannot be grasped. it says to live life fully in every moment. the method it says to do is to neither grasp nor reject anything - so no doing, rather just being in every moment.

life is like a journey - with emphasis not on destination, rather than on journey itself. our body and our mind both are not in our control, so in a way nothing is in our control. yet we live life by always trying to control it. i think this is because of the fear, which is deep down inside us - one of the most deepest fears being our death. so nothing is in our control - but still we have the choice of choosing between skillful and unskillful.

dogen said - we are time-being, meaning, time is self and self is time. everything is included in the present moment and it is complete in and of itself - yet there is no past and no future - because there is no present to grab hold of even. our awareness just experiences in the current moment, and so without our awareness, there is nothing as time.

dogen said - samsara and nirvana both are here right at this moment. dogen said - it is like one leg is right view of our basic nature and the other leg is the deluded view of samsara, it is up to us with which leg we move forward in the present moment.