Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How do I know if im doing it right

banned_crabbanned_crab Veteran
edited July 2013 in Meditation
Ive been meditating for about a week and usually it feels pretty alright. I go for 10 min to an hour. I feel somewhat relaxed but also pressured to consistently keep focus on my breath, so im never entirely relaxed. I am obsessed with trying to attain the first jhana, sometimes I think I have reached it but Im not even sure I understand the whole concept of it.

I just dont understand how im supposed to feel during meditation, especially when I am a beginner. I also want to avoid stagnation so I strive to ascend and reach the first jhana. Maybe you can help .

-Ascending to the next level

>So to achieve this jhana I should keep concentration on my breath until my mind goes into that quiet state right?
(I just feel the thinker being very quiet and thoughts disperse than quickly disintegrate .)

> What do I do at this point?
(I also feel like i might be so focused on trying to get to the next step that it hinders me from ascending.)

>When striving to achieve the first jhana (or just improving my basic meditation) which methods are most effective?
>Is it generally better to meditate eyes open or closed?

any extra tips or the sharing of personal meditation experiences are very much appreciated.
dive.jpg 292.3K

Comments

• riverflowriverflow Veteran
    edited July 2013

(I also feel like i might be so focused on trying to get to the next step that it hinders me from ascending.)

You've already answered an important question right here. ^^^^^