Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Interesting videos from Alan Watts

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
hi all,

from last few days, i have watched some videos of Alan Watts on internet and I have find them both interesting and insightful, so thought of sharing with all:

Comments

• Wonderful. Will have to watch the complete set when I have time.
    Alan Watts, despite his flaws or maybe because of them, had an an ability to understand and convey the dharma to the west from a Westerners perspective. Thanks for sharing. :bowdown:

. . . actually maybe should not be bowing :rockon:
  • CittaCitta Veteran
    edited August 2013
    I don't know...call me superficial but something about Watts has never sat right with me.
    I simply don't believe him. I think he's an actor.
    I actually met him and thought so then too...
    I have asked myself if its because I know that he was a piss-artist who drank himself to death in his early fifties..and I can honestly say it isn't that.
    I was a student of a Guru who managed to drink himself to death even more successfully in terms of life span.
    I have asked myself whether I have a knee-jerk reaction to his RP accent with its overtones of privilege..me being a scion of the lumpen proletariat an' all....
    And I don't think its 'thet '.
    I certainly don't think that the corny background music that has been added to the talks helps.
    But that is not the core of my problem.
    In the end I simply don't believe him. I think its a learned role. He is the Olivier of guru-biz.