Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What would the Buddha do?

I find myself being interrupted when trying to speak in a social setting at times. I feel like people aren't that interested in what I have to say and they don't seem to listen to me. I sometimes feel like i'm just being silenced.
I want to be social but what do I do when people just won't ever let me add to the conversation or if when I do they are constantly interrupting me or talking over me. I'm new to Buddhism and i'm trying to learn new things but...i'm fully human. Advice?

Comments

• vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran
    First, I don't see what your topic title has to do with the question you ask.

But, find new friends.
  • If there are multiple conversation happening. Say... 8+ people in the group. Then it's likely that people will get distracted. Don't be offended when that happens.

If you are talking to just a couple people, and they are still ignoring you, then like vinlyn said. Get new friends.

Bunks
  • Speak louder and continue speaking.
    Try not to be so boring. :p

. . . social tips for Buddhists? m m m . . . people do interrupt . . . I do it. I suppose people do not interrupt what they want to hear. What are you saying?
    howBunks
  • If you have nothing interesting to say, don't say anything. If people are not interested in what you say, they are not interested in you. You have 2 choices: Change yourself or change the people you mix with.
    howKundo
  • Watch and listen. Is anyone else being heard? What's their secret? Why is it working for them?