Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Zen koan in Mumonkan (Gateless Gate)

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited October 2013 in Buddhism Basics
while browsing internet, i came across the below koan in Mumonkan (Gateless Gate) case 13 :

Deshan went to the dining room from the meditation hall holding his bowl. Xuefeng was on duty cooking. When he met Deshan he said: "The dinner drum is not yet beaten. Where are you going with your bowl?"

Deshan turned around and went back to his room.

Xuefeng told Yantou about this. Yantou said: "Old Deshan does not understand the last word of the truth."

Deshan heard of this remark and asked Yantou to come to him. "I have heard," he said, "you are not approving my Zen." Yantou whispered something into Deshan’s ear. Deshan said nothing.

The next day Deshan delivered an entirely different kind of lecture to the monks. Yantou laughed and clapped his hands, saying, "I see our old man finally understands the last word of the truth. None in China can surpass him."

can someone explain this koan, please. thanks in advance.

Comments

• seeker242seeker242 Zen Florida, USA Veteran
    edited October 2013

can someone explain this koan, please. thanks in advance.

I don't think this sort of thing can be explained. If it could, then it would not be a koan to begin with!

:)
    riverflowzenffInvincible_summer
  • Said Ummon to his disciples, "However wonderful a thing is, it may be that it is better not to have it at all."
    You could if you must, ask in the 'ask a Zen Mistress' here:
    http://www.zenforuminternational.org/