Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Still not able to observe natural breathing

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,

I am still not able to observe my natural breathing - may be I am a totally hopeless case at anapanasati breath meditation or zazen just sitting. I sit cross-legged in normal sitting position with eyes closed.

Actually whenever I try to observe my natural breathing, I cannot help but manipulate it - even though I wish not to change it or I wish not to cautiously breath, but still when I observe my natural breathing it does get changed. When I try to see something else say like a wall or anything, then after sometime I can feel my natural breath, but at that time I am just seeing the wall, so then when I try to observe the natural breathing, by turning my focus on my breathing, then it start getting changed or turn into cautious breathing.

So asking you all that is proceeding in this way by trying to observe cautious breathing any helpful or a totally waste of time? Anapanasati sutta says to observe natural breathing. So does observing cautious breathing any helpful or is it just like doing something in the external world - a doing and not just observing? Please suggest. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited January 2015

@misecmisc1 said:

Please suggest.

Is it any easier with eyes open?

What you could try is deliberately regulating the breath for a short period, and then relaxing - like you would with muscles, tensing and then relaxing.