Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to handle thoughts?

Hello I'm rather new to meditation. I have begun a basic counting meditation, counting from 1 to 10 then starting over. So here his my question. When going through meditation and a thought arises do you try to cut it off as quickly as possible and resume what you were doing, or do you let it play out like the end credits of a movie and then resume after the thought has run it's course?

Comments

• BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran

You patiently acknowledge a thought is present, then softly drop it.
    Several others will be in the pipeline before your session is through, which does not mean they deserve to be put centerstage or allowed to run their course.
    Thoughts happen but the session is not about your thoughts.

personJason
  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited January 2015

@frozenlotus said:
    Hello I'm rather new to meditation. I have begun a basic counting meditation, counting from 1 to 10 then starting over. So here his my question. When going through meditation and a thought arises do you try to cut it off as quickly as possible and resume what you were doing, or do you let it play out like the end credits of a movie and then resume after the thought has run it's course?

Each time a thought arises gently return your attention to the breath. Allow the thought to pass rather than pursuing or indulging it.

Alert yet relaxed.

Keep it simple.

lobster