Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Teaching meditation

DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
edited March 2015 in Meditation

I've been teaching meditation to beginners on and off for about 15 years and wondered if anyone else has tried this.
I certainly wouldn't claim to be a "meditation teacher" but I have done quite a lot of it, mostly basic stuff like mindfulness of breathing and metta bhavana. I haven't got any qualifications to do this, but think I'm not too bad at it, I have a very simple approach.

Has anyone else been in this situation, either teaching or leading meditations, or maybe supporting other people? Are there any issues around not being "qualified"? I've picked up a lot from meditation teachers but haven't had any formal training.
And what about the difference between leading meditation and teaching it?

Comments

• As a failed YinYana Buddhist, I am not allowed to teach anything, only to learn.

The YinYana only 'teach' to the enlightened but as they do not require instruction, no teaching occurs.

. . . however [ahem] in the formal sense of posture, technique, common problems etc many people teach on this level and very usefully.

I have only once briefly introduced a meditation technique at the end of a yoga class. Last year I did write to a local National Trust site about starting an outdoor non-denominational meditation but the insurance required and so on . . . just too many regulations . . . not compassionate/patient enough . . . :)

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited March 2015