Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I need help :/

I'm new to Buddhism, I only know one Buddhist but she doesn't like talking about it to anyone so she's no help, but I want to know which books I should read to become more informed in Buddhism :/ please help :(

Comments

• silversilver In the beginning there was nothing, and then it exploded. USA, Left coast. Veteran

Hi Chris, I'm maybe six months into having discovered Buddhism, and I poked around on the internet, then the library and found lots of stuff to read about. My favorite book, which has become my Buddhist 'Bible' is all about his life as told by the very famous Vietnamese Monk, Thich Nhat Hanh, and the book is called Old Path, White Clouds. This book tells the Buddha's life story in a very enchanting and engaging and yet realistic way.

Just the other day, I ordered 3 books about Buddhism (cheap/used) on Amazon.com, and I wasn't into two of them and donated them to my library, but the third one sounded good.

Happy hunting!

Vastmind
  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran

@Chrisv23c said:> I'm new to Buddhism, I only know one Buddhist but she doesn't like talking about it to anyone so she's no help, but I want to know which books I should read to become more informed in Buddhism please help

This is a good general introduction to Buddhism: http://www.buddhanet.net/pdf_file/tree-enlightenment.pdf

Are there any local Buddhist groups or centres you could visit? This site might be helpful: http://www.buddhanet.info/wbd/

Kundo
  • VastmindVastmind Memphis, TN Veteran
    edited April 2015

Oh we love talking about it! You found the right place....