Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Do you feel pleasant feeling in your meditation?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

hi all,

just thought of asking you all that do you feel pleasantness in your meditation? how long did it take you to have some pleasant feeling in your meditation? i heard that in order to continue with meditation, we should be able to get something pleasant in our meditation, so that we can continue with the meditation practice - so what do you think about this idea - is it important to have some pleasant feeling in our meditation - be it zazen, anapanasati or whichever formal meditation you practice? any thoughts, ideas, please. thanks in advance.

Comments

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran

I think it's essential to have some pleasant feeling in meditation, there wouldn't be much motivation to continue with it otherwise.

• lobsterlobster Veteran

Yes.

I started with being mindful and then moved into meditation. Normally it is the other way around.

As far as I understand your situation, if you think of your sensations as quantum states, both pleasant and unpleasant, then the labelling choice is just a processing choice ...

• ZenshinZenshin Veteran East Midlands UK Veteran

Sometimes, it varies but I try to sit with whatever comes up, rather than pleasant I feel calm which is a pleasure in itself. I just did a metta sit which left me feeling very calm and happy, its mostly gone now but it was enjoyable while it lasted.

Buddhadragon
  • JeffreyJeffrey Veteran

In general I don't feel more pleasure.

• bookwormbookworm U.S.A. Veteran