Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Something odd happened in meditation this morning ...

I've been meditating for a few months now, just 15 minutes in the morning trying to focus on the breath. I find it really hard to do this, so I'm persevering and keeping it simple. I tend to suffer from anxiety, and for the last few days I've been feeling tired and a bit edgy. This morning as I was meditating I felt a strong sense of unease. Then my mind began to throw up frightening images of plane crashes and other disasters. Suddenly I had a vision (in my mind's eye, I wasn't hallucinating!) of a white lighthouse looking out onto a grey, chaotic ocean, constantly generating half-seen images that bubbled up, almost taking shape, and then sank back into the roiling mass. If I paid attention to them they strengthened; if I didn't, they melted back into the sea. This seemed a reassuring message in a way, but also a bit unnerving, and the image has haunted me all morning like a dream. Does this kind of thing happen often?

Earthninja

Comments

• It happens. I've had occasional times in meditation where meditation seems to dredge up crap from some dusty corner of my mind. The trick is not to dwell on it or give it more importance than it actually has. It will pass.

how
  • EarthninjaEarthninja Wanderer West Australia Veteran

I've had strange "memories" bubble up from seemingly nowhere during meditations. I try my best to just note them as thoughts, back to breath. Because that's what they are, :)
    I think it's probably a good sign these thoughts are arising, your meditation is obviously bringing up subconscious "stuff"