Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Planning an experiment

2»

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited June 2015

^^^ and as usual, a complex reply of @lobster , which i do not understand :confused: and as it is now getting late in night here, so i do not want to spoil a comfortable deluded sleep by even try to understand it. thank God that dogen did not taught the above lobster-dharma. :smiley:

Earthninja
  • lobsterlobster Veteran

^^^ advanced practice. First we have to awake. Sit like a statute [sic] and wait for Nothing to happen in all its 'emptiness'.

I am so glad the sky is still in the same position ... <3

• WalkerWalker Veteran Veteran
    edited June 2015

I think your plan for a restful day with some sitting and walking meditation is a good one.

It's amazing how the book I'm reading (The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching - Thich Nhat Hanh) is so appropriate for some of the threads I've been seeing lately.

"Buddhist meditation has two aspects - shamatha and viphashyana. We tend to stress the importance of viphashyana ("looking deeply") because it can bring us insight and liberate us from suffering and afflictions. But the practice of shamatha ("stopping") is fundamental. If we cannot stop, we cannot have insight."

Have a good weekend, @misecmisc1

lobsterBuddhadragonmisecmisc1

@Walker said:

Have a good weekend, misecmisc1

Thanks @Walker and you too have a good weekend.

Walker
  • genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran
    edited June 2015