Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What do you think is better?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited June 2015 in Meditation

hi all,

do you think slogging hours in sitting meditation is better than spending that time in other activities and trying to be mindful in those activities.

i theoretically understand that meditation is for letting go and meditation is done not for achieving anything, but for letting go of things.

do you think there is a right meditation and a wrong meditation? what if the focus is very weak and the sustained attention on breath is not for even 5 seconds, then also do you think it is better to just sit in meditation posture?

any thoughts/ideas please. thanks in advance.

Earthninja

Comments

• silversilver In the beginning there was nothing, and then it exploded. USA, Left coast. Veteran

You DO seem to ask the same questions in 100 different ways. O.o

I think if sitting meditation is 'slogging hours' to you, then yeah, it is better to do other activities mindfully. This isn't a cookie-cutter religion of some sort now, is it. You have to figure out your own balance in your own life, methinks.

WalkerBuddhadragonEarthninja
  • WalkerWalker Veteran Veteran

Yep, I think you need to find the balance of activity and 'sitting time' that works for you. Not everyone can sit for hours and hours. Just pay attention to what you're doing while you're doing it. =)

• DavidDavid A human residing in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Ancestral territory of the Erie, Haudenosaunee, Huron-Wendat, Mississauga and Neutral First Nations Veteran