Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Humor

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited June 2015 in General Banter

hi all,

a question came to my mind regarding humor, so thought of asking you all.

in spirituality, restrain of senses is usually said. so when it comes to speech, idle chatter is not allowed. but i think when we say jokes or kid around, then usually the talk involves something which is not there actually or extrapolated or making fun of others - but this i think might come under idle chatter.

but i heard few monks like Ajahn Brahm, Thanissaro Bhikku saying in their dhamma talks that we should have humor around us to keep us in a light mood.

so the question is that - is humor (like jokes, comedy etc) allowed in spiritual path? should we try to say jokes or kid around to make us laugh - or - should we try to be serious all the time by speaking no idle talk? please suggest. thanks in advance.

EarthninjaShoshinBuddhadragon

Comments

• ZeroZero Veteran

@misecmisc1 said:
    so the question is that - is humor (like jokes, comedy etc) allowed in spiritual path? should we try to say jokes or kid around to make us laugh - or - should we try to be serious all the time by speaking no idle talk? please suggest. thanks in advance.

Idle talk doesn't necessarily equate to humour, nor does seriousness necessarily mean humourless.
    It would be a strange thing if humour were not allowed - I can't recall my sense of humour ever asking permission.

• genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran
    edited June 2015