Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Newbie: should I just follow my breath or do I get to think about stuff?

tonypatontonypaton New
edited October 2015 in Meditation

I am new to Buddhism but totally in love with it all!

I am new to meditation with only 1 hour of sitting each day. I have read many notes from the Vipassana 10-days. And I have been reading lots elsewhere about meditation....and i have been sitting, trying to faithfully observe thoughts and feelings and just let them move aside.

But every couple of days I get some really juicy stuff coming up from somewhere....for instance a thought that my anger for my enemy is a function of my isolation and if I really understood no-self, "that I inter-am"...that I am one with my enemy, then my conflict would take on a whole new....and on goes the thought.

These feel like deeper moments, and I feel those thoughts are important to my journey. How do I meditate ON something like this, without losing track of the intimacy of my breath?

sova

Comments

• BunksBunks Australia Veteran
    edited October 2015

Hi there @tonypaton - welcome!

Vipassana is not the only meditation technique available.

For me meditation is kind of like exercise. To keep it fresh and interesting I like to "cross train" i.e. try different meditation techniques.

At present I'm enjoying following the Lamrim (Stages of the Path) meditations of both Venerable Thubten Chodron and Geshe Kelsang Gyatso.

There are several specific meditations in the Lamrim that encourage us to meditate on the topic you mention in your post above.

Good luck!

dantepwJeffreysova