Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Self-directed Meditation Retreat?

racerskaracerska Indiana, USA Explorer

Hello everyone,
I'm still new to the Buddhist meditation practice (about one year so far), I try to meditate once a day, but life and work sometimes get in the way. I'd really like to go on a retreat, like a 3 or 4 day one, because I think it would be a really helpful and insightful experience.

I don't have much money to travel, and there doesn't seem to be any retreats in my area. I was thinking about trying to do a self-directed retreat. I was thinking about going camping or someplace where I can have solitude. Does anyone have any experience with doing something like? Do you have advice on a daily schedule or how to organize a self-directed retreat? Any and all helpful comments are welcome.

Thanks in advance.

seeker242Invincible_summerdantepw

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited October 2015

Every minute you spend awake, is a minute in which you can 'meditate'.

Meditation is not only about solitude, silence, no distractions and a peaceful atmosphere in idyllic surroundings.

Meditation can be washing up, waiting for a bus, painting the skirting board and peeling the potatoes.

When you can sit in calm abiding listening to the roar of traffic and the pounding of a roadworks jackhammer - then you're meditating.

"Life and Work" are central to meditation - to being in the moment - to being present and focused.