Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

My meditation has been getting worse over time.

I used to be able to clear my mind on and off and meditate two hours a day. I practice daily and the past few days, I can barely focus on my breath at all anymore and I'm so restless I can barely sit. What could be causing this? Would listening to metal outside of meditation, gossiping, or using exagurations have something to do with that? Because I have been.
I've been practicing almost every day for about a couple months or more (on and off for about three years). I am of the Theravadin tradition.

ashwin

Comments

• rohitrohit Maharrashtra Veteran

Yes. It happens over time. We need to skillful in wordly life to have good meditation sessions.Concerntrating on breath is so hard task for me. Do you learned vipaasana as you told that you are theravedian.

• The first step is virtue(sila} and sense restraint. The progress comes one by one only if the right conditions are present. They cannot be forced by willpower.

"For a person endowed with virtue, consummate in virtue, there is no need for an act of will, 'May freedom from remorse arise in me.' It is in the nature of things that freedom from remorse arises in a person endowed with virtue, consummate in virtue.

"For a person free from remorse, there is no need for an act of will, 'May joy arise in me.' It is in the nature of things that joy arises in a person free from remorse.

"For a joyful person, there is no need for an act of will, 'May rapture arise in me.' It is in the nature of things that rapture arises in a joyful person.