Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I have a lot of time and love to meditate (most of the time). I want to go crazy. How long should I?

I have a lot of lot of time and I heard someone mention on Reddit how you can reach higher states through hours long of meditation. I've one meditated for three hours easily. I also have a seiza bench so I barely feel any pain. I've been meditating almost daily for a few months and have been a Buddhist for three years.

How long should I meditate every day if I want to get really far really fast? Most of the time I have absolutely nothing to do.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited January 2016

Then find something productive to do. Meditation is NOT goal-oriented. Meditation IS the point.

If you have meditated for three hours, easily - and you're still asking this question - then you're not meditating.
    You're just Busy doing nothing....

lobstermerxStingRayLee82
  • lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited January 2016

Higher states eh? [shrug] :o

Try working towards having things that need doing is the advice you require. Sadly you might end up another useless meditation junky instead. Reconsider your question please. If you can not I suggest mindfulness, tai chi done in the world.

The point of meditation is not to love it, OD on altered states of chemical imbalance or otherwise lose oneself in mirrors, magic or having nothing better to do ...

[too harsh?] ah well we are on the path to Truth, not becoming imitation rocks ... <3

karasti