Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Who or what is being mindful?

1235»

Comments

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited March 2016

@silver said: Whoah, Norman! Why didn't you tell me?! That is way cool. (All of it, but especially the 'significant contribution to outcomes for heart attack patients.')

I'm not a medical professional, what best describes my skill-set is "Systems Analyst".
    I'm not sure if BuddhaDharma counts as a system though. ;)

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran

@SpinyNorman said:

@person said:> @SpinyNorman I've suggested twice in this thread that the mind or the brain is being mindful but you haven't responded. Since you responded to most other arguments can I assume you don't have any objection. Also though, you haven't agreed either so maybe you don't agree, do you have a different point of view then?

I think you can look at mindfulness as a function of mind, or reflexive awareness. I'm not sure that really answers the question though. Practically speaking I've found that mindfulness involves sustained intention, this is something which the anatta groupies can't really explain.

Why not? If the argument is that mindfulness arises due to conditions why can't those conditions be sustained? I guess to me sustained intention seems compatible with anatta and I don't understand why it wouldn't be. Maybe you have reasons why but either I missed them or haven't been convinced in this thread.

edited March 2016

@Barah said:> > @SpinyNorman said:

Inner space.

The best answer yet.
    "Inner stillness" is the best I can do.