Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

New to Buddism

SweetteeSweettee New York New

Hello,

I'm new to Buddism and so far I'm doing a lot of reading. From what I can gather, meditation is essential in this journey. My question is, does anyone have any suggestion on where, how, when to start meditating....should I use self guided meditation and if so, who would you recommend?

Thanks

Comments

• RuddyDuck9RuddyDuck9 MD, USA Veteran

@Sweettee you can find good information and talks about buddhism on youtube. Look up folks like Thich Nhat Hanh, Pema Chodron, or google other teachers. Read "the heart of the buddha's teaching." Look up basic breathing exercises for meditation. It's all about quieting your mind so that you can see the truth of things. Research the Four Noble Truths, the Five Aggregates, the Eight-Fold Path. That's a good place to begin! <3 welcome to NB

lobsterDeformed
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Yeah, what @RuddyDuck9 said. ^^.

RuddyDuck9
  • lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited June 2016

should I use self guided meditation and if so, who would you recommend?

Yes. Try self guided, if that appeals. You will find what works for you. We all do.

Here is my web page for meditation

Welcome. Are you a grumpy puss? - based on your avatar ... if so try googling 'whispering meditation' :)

• genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran

Welcome @Sweettee. Hope you find something useful here.

Here is a meditation instruction site -- Zen-flavored with photos.

lobsterDeformed