Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Do I need a teacher for practicing mindfulness meditation?

Hi everyone!

I am new to the world of meditation and also to this forum. I really like to learn more about meditation. I've been practicing mindfulness meditation using these tapes online http://marc.ucla.edu/body.cfm?id=22 . They've been very helpful guiding me, since I never have really meditate before in my life. They also have helped me feel less stressed.

But today I was telling me sister she should try them out and she said that you can't really meditate unless you have a teacher or go to a class. I learned she was talking about transcendental meditation, but then it sort of made me think if it is necessary a to have a instructor mindfulness meditation. And I started doubting everything (something I usually do when someone disagrees with me.)

Honestly, even though I have notice I feel more peaceful, I feel a little insecure about the practices I am doing because I have a lot of questions regarding this practice. But I also, for some reason, don't feel ready yet to want to start with a teacher. Being around new people or in new situations are stressful for me so I rather do it by myself for a while.

So anyways, do I need a teacher? Is it necessary?

Thanks!

Comments

• Will_BakerWill_Baker Vermont Veteran

No...

silverlobster
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator