Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

New Buddhists

Bjack6Bjack6 Manchester New

Hi, I am new to the Buddhists Reggio and I have a question =) What meats can't Theravada eat?

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

See here, under 'Alms for Food'.
    Remember this is mainly an instruction to MONKS.

Bunks
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Also:

One should not consume elephant flesh... horse flesh... dog flesh... snake flesh... lion flesh... tiger flesh... leopard flesh... bear flesh... hyena flesh. Whoever should do so: an offense of wrong doing." — Mv.VI.23.10-15

(Page 48.)

Again, this is a MONASTIC code.

Welcome to the forum. I see you are a fellow Brit! Nice to meet you.

• SpekterSpekter NY New
    edited August 2016