Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Art as meditation

KannonKannon NAMU AMIDA BUTSUAch-To Veteran

I am an abstract artist and recently I've begun large scale pieces which is always my favorite. I work very quickly and intuitively. Because I don't make objective images in my work I think it is very free. The feeling is similar to a great meditation. I am so calm and mindful and the work I create is evidence of this. It makes me so happy. Are there any other artists here who have similar experiences?

Tigger

Comments

• FosdickFosdick in its eye are mirrored far off mountains Alaska, USA Veteran
    edited January 2017

Yes, very much so. I paint objective representations only, and at a relatively small scale, but the principle is the same. Andrew Wyeth once stated that he honestly considered himself to be an abstractionist.

There are a few extra pitfalls inherent in objective art, but they can be avoided when one is mindful of them. In one sense, we're all just painting paint.

Kannon
  • lobsterlobster Veteran
    edited January 2017

I pretend to make abstract art. Usually with an Apple pro and pencil
    For example this collage I just finished. Not done anything for a while. @Fosdick is right about us being paint painters. What I need is a good pretentious title 'Monkey Mind Dreams of Buddha's'

I can certainly get into a painting zone, but mostly it is just my monkey mind having a bit of a play ...

You can see one of @Fosdick wonderful paintings in this thread ...
    http://newbuddhist.com/discussion/24154/i-haz-crayons

• TiggerTigger Toronto, Canada Veteran