Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Creating my Own Refuge Ceremony

I have reached a point in my life where I am ready to take refuge in the 3 jewels. This is a considered decision and ive been leading up to this for many years.
I know one doesnt formally need to convert to Buddhism but I do want to create my own refuge ceremony to mark my committment to the path. I would be most grateful for peoples experiences of this or suggestions for my own refuge ceremony. I am not part of any group or sangha where I live, but I am part of this great sangha here!
Very grateful for all ideas, suggestions and shared experiences of refuge ceremony.

Comments

• HozanHozan Veteran

I am choosing April 08th for my refuge ceremony.

Bunks
  • karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator

There isn't really a right or wrong way as long as it is meaningful to you. I take my vows every day as a reminder in front of a small statue of Buddha, a picture of my teacher (obviously not necessary if you don't have one) and with my mala. You may wish to light incense or a candle, make an offering, take the precepts at the same time, etc. Before I did vows with my teacher and before I even had a statue of Buddha, I took refuge vows personally in an outdoors place that is special to me, because it helps me to feel connected.

Hozanherberto
  • HozanHozan Veteran

Thank you @karasti . Where would I get Mala beads?