Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation experience and letting go

RefugeeRefugee San Francisco Explorer

I'm a novice meditator. I've completed perhaps 30-40 sessions in total, and I vary my practice and experiment with different kinds of focus. Despite my somewhat chaotic experimentation, I've noticed that it's getting easier to sit and be still for lengthier periods of time without feeling agitated, and I typically feel more at peace afterward. While I believe the benefits are real, sometimes I am confused about what it is that I'm experiencing during the sessions and afterward.

My goal with meditation is, to put it bluntly, be a better person. I routinely experience relentlessly negative thoughts and feelings. These perceptions are mostly about myself, and they impair my ability to form intimate relationships with people and thereby externalize the love that I feel, which is repressed and nearly impossible to demonstrate. In their worst manifestations, these perceptions take the form of fantastical death-wishes, fleeting thoughts suggesting that change is impossible, existence is meaningless, and that I might as well shoot myself in the head.