Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Difficulty Meditating

Hello,

I'd like some feedback on some trouble I'm having during meditation.

I simply can't seem to concentrate on my breath. I can notice it but I can't go "deeper" into the sensation. I've been having this problem on and off for about a month. I've been meditating daily (usually 1-2 hours) for about 5 months. In the past I've been able to really let go into the breath and find some peace and quiet. That hasn't been the case recently.

I'm getting frustrated because I feel like I'm wasting my time or doing something wrong. I'll cut my sessions short because it feels like nothing is happening. My mind wanders, I can bring it back to the breath but I have trouble "getting into it" and really focusing.

I also have ADD, I'm not sure if that plays a part. Sometimes the medication helps me concentrate but I'd rather not use that as a crutch.

Do I just accept this as part of my practice and continue to persevere? Or do I need to revise my technique?

Thank you.

Comments

• BunksBunks Australia Veteran

Wow - I'm impressed that you have the commitment to try and meditate every day for 1 - 2 hours after only 5 months in the dharma.

I've been practicing for 7 years and I'm lucky to sit for 30 mins a day.

Shorter more focused sessions may be more beneficial. 15 minutes max. Try it and see.

Play with the breath. Play with your meditation techniques, don't be too rigid and don't beat yourself up about changing or even stopping meditating for a bit.

http://www.dhammatalks.org/Archive/Writings/withEachAndEveryBreath_v160221.pdf