Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism and Global Warming

So, I'm new to Buddhism and I was attracted to the faith after I got fed up with all the callousness I saw in Christianity. I felt that people were finding convenient excuses to behave however they liked and were using bad theological arguments to excuse their actions. For instance, often times when I would talk to church members about global warming, they would say that it didn't matter since the world would be burned anyways according to the book of Revelation. This seemed like a very callous and dismissive answer to me. Even if we assume the Bible to be true, and even if the world was going to face some sort of biblical destruction, shouldn't Christians still try to protect the planet since it's a gift to them from God, "The Father". I doubt any of us would actively lay waste to a house that our parents built for us, so why would Christians (who overwhelmingly see God as a Father who built Earth for them), ignore the threat of climate change?

As an individual, this was the final inconsistency I could bare. I was left with little in terms of spiritual faith but through my collegiate studies, I found Buddhism. As we discussed the principles of Buddhism in my philosophy class, I couldn't help but to smile. There was an embarrassingly large grin on my face throughout the entire lecture; I fell in love with the messages of Buddhism (particularly Sunyata) and I've been trying to learn more ever since.