Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Zen koan's understanding

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited June 2017 in General Banter

Hi All,
I read the below Zen koan titled Qingyuan’s Whisk which is the first koan in Dogen's 300 koan collections:
Zen master Qingyuan Xingsi [Hongji] of Jingju Monastery once asked Zen master Xiqian of Shitou [Wuji], “Where are you from?”
Shitou said, “I am from Caoxi [where the Sixth Ancestor taught].” _
_Master Qingyuan held up a whisk and said, “Do they have this in Caoxi?”

Shitou said, “Not in Caoxi, nor in India.”
The master said, “You haven’t been to India, have you?”
Shitou said, “If I had been there, it would have been there.”
The master said, “If you haven’t been there, how can you say that?”
Shitou said, “Master, you should say something rather than letting me say it all.”
The master said, “It’s not that I mind saying something, but I fear it would be misunderstood later.”

My understanding of the above koan is that the above koan is about 'just this' or suchness. The talk is between 2 enlightened masters about 'just this'. Initially master Xingsi asked Shitou that where is he from and Shitou replied Coaxi (I am interpreting it as China, but the idea is from where Zen started or may be we can think of China as Bodhidharma started this Zen stuff in China) - a normal question answer based on our conventional reality.