Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Online Dharma Class?

KannonKannon NAMU AMIDA BUTSUAch-To Veteran

I am considering paying for this 6 week Tricycle class on the Four Noble Truths. It is $139. Not a lot, but not a little. I will be starting school at the end of September; this class starts Sept. 6th. I have followed Tricycle's Daily Dharma newsletter for awhile and enjoy it.

https://learn.tricycle.org/courses/the-four-noble-truths

After practicing on my own for a long time as a beginner, I feel like I am ready to take a new step but don't know how to. I have never had any Buddhist teachings or interactions other than this forum and reading. I think this class would help me consolidate everything I've learned on my own with the guidance of a teacher.

However, do I really want to pay $139?

However, does money matter that much compared to knowledge?

However, will I really learn anything new? Will I learn a lot but continue to willfully ignore my practice?

Should I just go for it anyway?

Comments

• karastikarasti Breathing Minnesota Moderator

Before you decide for sure, perhaps look online for free teachings. There are so many really excellent teachers who post their teachings online on youtube for free, you might find you can grow your understanding without having to pay the money. there's nothing wrong with paying for a class, but I'm always a fan of finding other options if they exist, first. Especially when it's online because paying for online classes lacks something true classroom time has.

• vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran

I agree with Karasti...there is so much online for free.