Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Confused new member

jhutter33jhutter33 United States New

Hello all,
Namaste
I hope I am adding to the correct discussion. I am fairly new to Buddhism unfortunately I have been in a skilled nursing facility for about a year now while recovering from surgery so i haven't been able to visit any local Buddhist temples in my area. I try to still gain as much knowledge as I caneed online so I am thankful for forums such as this. My real question is if recently came across a statue of Buddha which I have never seen before and not quite sure of it's meaning. I was hoping someone could steer me in the right direction. I understand the namaskara mudra, but have never come across Buddha in such an elaborate dress/robe and am confused as simplicity is such an important aspect of Buddha's teaching. I have also never seen Buddha depicted as being seen sitting atop a cobra (Naga?). I have seen Medicine Buddha (Bhaiṣajyaguru) depicted as having bluish skin but no other. Could this be in Hinduism? I am sorry for the rambling. Here is a link to the statue in question. Thank you

https://www.google.com/search?num=50&ei=MnfYWdfbHYGojQOo_IOQCQ&q=buddha+sitting+on+cobra,+namaskara&oq=buddha+sitting+on+cobra,+namaskara&gs_l=mobile-gws-serp.3...17169.19031.0.19743.6.5.0.0.0.0.421.1159.0j2j0j1j1.4.0....0...1.1j4.64.mobile-gws-serp..2.3.737...35i39k1j33i21k1.182.8EIEstP3M6E#imgrc=Uh4Z7mbGQT9tCM:

Comments

• Honestly, forget the statues. They are irrelevant. Drink the medicine, forget about the pretty packaging. It'll save your life.

• I have special Zenith drones for this sort of situation ...