Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Alan Watts

I've been practicing Buddhism to different extremes for the past 10 years, and recently I have started to listen to Alan Watts. I know he's a philosopher, but much of what he says about the universe and Buddhist philosophy has not only allowed me to understand it, but to go forward and have insight into that understanding.

I have heard many times about grasping and desire from reading about it, listening to monks give talks on it, but somehow when I heard Alan Watts talk about it, it really sunk in. Other topics he has given me great insight into are things such as the fact that enlightenment is ever present, only we shroud it with delusion, much like as a sculptor chips away at a chunk of stone to reveal a sculpture. How the universe and me are one of the same, how as I hear a bird sing or a leaf fall to the ground, I am creating all of that within my mind. How my lungs do not exist without the air and so forth. But more importantly, he has taught me to not take life so seriously. He often talks about how the universe and life is a game, not in the sense of something trivial, because suffering exists, but I have thought for a long time about how this whole ride we call life shouldn't be taken so seriously.