Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Query regarding Dharma Transmission

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2017 in General Banter

Hi All,
I have read at many places in Zen literature regarding transmission of dharma from teacher to student. My question is – is this some secret teachings of dharma, which the teacher explicitly tells to a student? If yes, then how can it be like this if there is actually nothing as per Heart Sutra?
Teachings on Dharma, which is teachings on things just as they are, is self-evident, so having it public is ok, but what is this secret transmission from teacher to student?
Is it that for enlightenment to happen, this secret transmission is a pre-requisite and so without having an explicit dedicated physical teacher, is enlightenment not possible?
Any information here please. Thanks.

Comments

• Sorry, it's a secret.....

KundoVastmindSnakeskinShoshin
  • misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited November 2017

@karasti said:
    Heart Sutra doesn't really say there is nothing. True wisdom is found only when we decontruct all the things we think hold us and our lives together. There is still wisdom, however, once that happens. Prior to that, wisdom peeks through like a sun behind the clouds but it is clouded much of the time. The clouds being our belief systems, our ideas, our thoughts about what reality it and how we hold it together with all of our ideas and beliefs.