Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Supporting Sports Teams

Hello I am very new to Buddhis, so any basic resources to get started would be great, thank you.
My question regards supporting sports teams, as I love supporting Liverpool, and England at tbe World Cup etc, is this still okay while trying to practice Buddhism? I wouldn't want to give this up as I find sport so fun and enjoyable, so any tips on how to incorporate this would be great, thank you.

Comments

• JasonJason God Emperor Arrakis Moderator
    edited April 2018

Yes, but only if you're a Chelsea or Leicester fan.

Seriously though, one can enjoy things, just try not to get too wrapped up into them and become angry when they lose or haughty when they win, etc. Have a healthy distance from them, try to enjoy watching without becoming attached and enjoy the sport for what it is.

Shoshinelcra1goSnakeskin
  • BunksBunks Australia Veteran

Pff, it’s prettty easy to let go of supporting any of the Aussie teams right now.....we’re either losing or cheating (or both!)

Back to your question though. You’ll find as you tread further along this path these things will naturally start to have less significance in your life. Don’t try and over intellectualise it and drop things before you’re ready. As some teachers much wiser than me have said, “Luke, when the right causes and conditions come together, it will happen.” And they’re right...

personSnakeskin
  • I watch sports and it is truly the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat. It is interesting as a Buddhist to just watch how my mind reacts.

Snakeskin
  • TsultrimTsultrim Hawaii Veteran