Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Diamond Sutra and Chan masters' teachings - what does it actually mean?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited May 2018 in General Banter

Hi All,

I have been studying the various Chan masters' life story and their teachings from the website https://terebess.hu/zen/zen.html

In Diamond Sutra, in its end, the Buddha says that - Like a meteor, like darkness, as a flickering lamp, An illusion, like hoar-frost or a bubble, Like clouds, a flash of lightning, or a dream: So is all conditioned existence to be seen.

In Bodhidharma's teaching at Bloodstream sermon, the first sentence is - Everything that appears in the three realms comes from the mind.

So what exactly is meant here in the above teachings? The three realms are the desire, form and formless realms - so literally every possible realm. So if everything is coming from mind, does it mean that whatever persons and objects we encounter, do not really exist? But persons are there - correct? I have my father, my mother, my wife and my daughter - these are living human beings - correct? I see table, laptop, mobile phone and I use them - so these things also exist - correct? So what does it mean that everything that appears comes from mind.

Then there are teachings that - mind itself is Buddha and no mind, no Buddha.

What do these teachings actually mean? What do we need to do to realize the above teachings? Please suggest. Thanks.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited May 2018